Home > bmx, racing > USAC Names Funded Riders for South Africa.

USAC Names Funded Riders for South Africa.

March 16th, 2011

David Herman leading the way in Oldsmar, Florida

In a press release sent out today, USA Cycling announced the riders that would be heading to the World Cup race in South Africa next month. For the men, the line up will be the same as it was in New Zealand last weekend, Nic Long, Josh Meyers, David Herman and young gun Corban Sharrah. Connor Fields is still oddly missing.
For the females, this marks the official return of Alise Post(although she is expected this weekend in Arizona) along side Alise will be Arielle Martin, Brooke Crain, Amanda Carr and Amanda Geving . Click through the jump to read the full release.

USA Cycling is pleased to announce the nine athletes it will send to the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, April 7-9. The BMX Supercross World Cup is the fourth World Cup event to count into the 2010-11 UCI BMX rankings. The event also allows riders to accumulate points toward a country’s start spots in the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Corben Sharrah leads the men’s team into the UCI Supercross World Cup in South Africa (Photo by Jack McDaniel)Four men received nominations to USA Cycling’s funded team for the event. Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles) earned an automatic nomination to the team by virtue of being ranked fifth in the 2010 Supercross World Cup standings. Joining Sharrah as automatic nominees will be Nic Long, (Lakeside, Calif./ Haro-Rockstar), who is ranked sixth, and Josh Meyers (Treasure Island, Fla./ Factory Ssquared-Answer), who is ranked 15th. David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./ Intense BMX) was also named to the team as a coach’s selection.

Alise Post (St. Cloud, Minn./ Redline Bicycles) and Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./ Intense BMX) will lead the women’s funded team for the event, having earned automatic nominations as the top two Americans in the 2010 Supercross World Cup standings in fourth and sixth respectively. Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro-Rockstar), Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./Endeavor-RipXX-GHP) and Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./ MCS Bicycles) comprise the remaining riders as coach’s selections for the American team.

For more information about the UCI Supercross World Cup, please click here.

Click here to view all of the 2011 USA Cycling BMX Power Rankings.

All championship class riders born from 1994 or earlier with an active USA Cycling BMX license can register for the 2011 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup by logging on to their “My USA Cycling” account. Registration costs $165 and is open until 5 p.m. MST on March 23.

2011 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup #1
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
April 7-9, 2011
USA Cycling Funded Team:

Corben Sharrah (Tucson, Ariz./GT Bicycles)
Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro-Rockstar)
Josh Meyers (Treasure Island, Fla./Factory Ssquared-Answer)
David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Intense BMX)

Alise Post (St. Cloud, Minn./Redline Bicycles)
Arielle Martin (Spanaway, Wash./Intense BMX)
Brooke Crain (Visalia, Calif./Haro-Rockstar)
Amanda Carr (Punta Gorda, Fla./Endeavor-RipXX-GHP)
Amanda Geving (Largo, Fla./MCS Bicycles)

bmx, racing , , , , , , , , ,

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.